Week 1 – preparations

It certainly doesn’t seem a week since I landed in South Africa for the start of my three month tour of the country. I am very glad that I didn’t set off on my travels any earlier. It has taken this long just to get little details sorted out. It has also mean that I have had the opportunity to take part in some typical South African pastimes.

First of all it took a little while for my luggage to catch up with me. Given that I flew out of Cape Town after a single night, heading for Grahamstown in the Eastern Cape, which is two hours drive from the nearest airport, KLM did a great job of getting my luggage to me. Fortunately I had some clothes and other necessities in my carry on. Hence I was able to spend the first two nights of my stay in a small game reserve.

The lodge itself is not far from Grahamstown. As there are no big game we were able to wander at will to observe the flora and fauna. Along with a rich variety of birds there were kudu, impala, sprinkbok and warthogs around. Unusually the King Proteas were in flower (which is apparently rather late for them).

DSCF8647_cropped

A King Protea in full flower.

DSCF8743_cropped

An impala buck in motion.

The working week started with meetings at banks in town to arrange a personal account for me and a business account for the project. As one might expect this was not exactly straightforward. After visits to three banks and talking to lots of different people (with the associated waiting) we managed to arrange the necessary. At the same time I was able to sort out internet access for my phone and notebook. As I already had a South African SIM card this proved quicker and easier than with the bank.

The rest of the week has been spent sorting out kit and chemicals. Some of the things had been left here for others to use and they needed cleaning, consolidating, cataloguing and crating up. I have checked that the data projector talks to my kit and made sure the portable PA system is working. The teachers’ resources which go along with the tour have been translated into Afrikaans and isiXhosa so there was a little work still to do on them. I’m afraid I speak neither language but needed to be consulted where things were not clear to ensure the translations are as good as possible.

On Saturday (12th) we took my shopping list to Port Elizabeth with us in order to get some more consumables. Having done that we could pick up my pick up from the rental company. It’s a nice white Mitsubishsi Triton with a covered cargo portion – what they call a double cab bakkie here. After which we headed for St. Georges Park to watch South Africa play New Zealand on the second day of the Test.

Test match at St. Georges Park, Port Elizabeth.

South Africa versus New Zealand at St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth.

Today (Sunday 13th) we went to the shops yet again. I have now very nearly collected everything I need.  I also had a chance to catch up with some bits and pieces on the computer. In fact it has worked out quite well, as today has been the first really hot day and I don’t have to exert myself too much. The rest of the week has been pleasant but when the wind got up it has been feeling almost autumnal.

Next week things start in earnest. I leave for East London on Tuesday, with the first show on Wednesday. There are still a few details that I need to get clear before I start, including booking out the GPS (so that I can get where I am going), making sure that the bakkie is secure and everything fits, and getting the system for evaluation forms sorted out. Although I have toured before I have always had someone to help and this time I will have to deal with all the paperwork myself.

I’ll be back in Grahamstown next weekend so there will be a chance to deal with any snags that have arisen, then it is off to the Free State and the Northern Cape. The closer it gets the more apprehensive I become – fingers crossed that I can rise to the challenge.

This entry was posted in Kitchen Chemistry on Tour 2013 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment